top of page
  • Writer's pictureNia Buckner

Update: First Dose of the COVID Vaccine


Hey everyone! On Sunday, January 24 I received my first dose of Moderna's COVID vaccine. Can we talk about an adrenaline rush?! I still can't believe I have received my first dose. And it still blows my mind that it's almost be a whole year since we started quarantine. Let that sink in for a minute...crazy right?! Special shoutout to my classmates volunteering at the clinic who made sure that everything ran smoothly in 20 degree weather!


Facts about the Moderna Vaccine


  • Moderna's vaccine is a series of 2 doses. The second dose is given exactly 28 days post your first dose! (With the Pfizer vaccine, your next dose is 21 days post!)

  • Moderna's vaccine is currently 94.1% effective at preventing COVID-19 in people who have received both doses!

  • Moderna's vaccine utilizes mRNA (messenger RNA) to deliver instructions to protein factories in the body. Once the instructions are delivered/encoded, antibodies are made, and the body discards the mRNA. The antibodies that your body makes are then used to defend your immune system if you ever come in contact with COVID-19.

  • mRNA vaccines do not use the live/active virus


The information above is from the CDC's website. Check out these links for more information! https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/different-vaccines/Moderna.html


How do I feel?


3 hours post:

  • Faint Headache

This headache was nothing out of the ordinary and was very similar to the light headaches that I get whenever I get my yearly flu shot. Since I was used to that feeling, I didn't ring any alarms regarding it. I just made sure that I stayed extra hydrated throughout the day.

  • Sore Arm

When I raise my arm at about 45 degrees, a little bit of soreness kicks in. Why 45 degrees? The injection is made into your deltoid muscle. Your deltoid muscle starts kicking in when you raise you raise your arm above 45 degrees! (Shoutout to anatomy and physiology! Y'all, if I could go back in time and take that class again, I absolutely would. Hands down. No argument. One of the best classes I've taken so far!)


6 hours post:

  • Faint headache persists

Yea, this little headache didn't want to leave me alone lol.

  • Very very sore arm

The best way I can describe this soreness is the feeling of getting 3 flu shots in one arm on the same day. While I was studying for that night, I made sure not to engage my left arm unless it was absolutely necessary (like cheering on the Tampa Bay Buccs). Pretty much anything that engaged my deltoid muscle was a no-go that night. Even when I went to sleep, I made sure that I positioned myself so my arm wouldn't get in the way. Did I take anything for it? No mam, I opted not to take any Advil or Tylenol so that if I were to get a fever (I was 0% fever free) I would be able to document it.


24 hours post:

  • Less arm soreness

I woke up this morning bright and early for lecture and my arm felt 100xs better. Finally my arm let up! I could move my arm without much thought. Applying pressure to the injection site caused a little discomfort but besides that I was good. Now if the soreness from the night before would've stayed there? No doubt, I would've taken something to alleviate it. On sight!

  • Fatigue

Around 1 pm I was hit with a wave of tiredness. The best way I can describe it was like a cloudy day but in my head. I did wonder if this cloudy feeling was the result of my procrastination for studying pathology, but after some internal debate, I realized that it wasn't. Usually if I don't want to study I can pull myself to get it done. But this go round? My body was like "Rest. Period." So happily I took the day to rest lol.


48 hours post:

  • No arm soreness!

Definitely grateful for my arm getting back to normal. I was even able to do a HIIT workout without any complaints of my arm getting in the way.

  • Feeling back to normal

The fatigue that I felt yesterday has subsided. Even though the feeling of procrastination is still very real, my since of tiredness is back to its regular levels (y'all know Zoom fatigue is real).


Post 48 hours:

Everything is back to normal! Once again, I'm so grateful to have the opportunity to receive the vaccine. Even though everyone's experience with the vaccine is unique, I'm glad that we're taking steps in the right direction to bring this pandemic to an end!

You may be wondering, "When will I get my second dose?" I'm already scheduled for my second dose on February 21! Stay tuned for more updates!


48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe!

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

©2020 by nia-lavette. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page